Skip to content

Knitting books

August 1, 2010

On a recent Yarnista post, Sharon said this

“as I single handedly keep the entire knitting book industry afloat.”

Which first made me wonder if I published a knitting book, whether she would buy it, and second, it made me wonder which knitting books are out there that are essential to have, but I don’t have them. So. What’s your all time favorite knitting book, and why?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyn (DownwardDogFbrs) permalink
    August 2, 2010 6:20 am

    I love stitch dictionaries! The Vogue series is nicely done. I also love Clara Parkes’ books, The Book of Wool, The Book of Yarn. I’m a sucker for new pattern books. If you look at my Rav library, you’ll see that Sharon is not single handedly keeping the industry afloat, I’m giving her way too much help!

  2. August 9, 2010 11:35 am

    Right now, my most indispensable ones are Barbara Walker’s Treasuries–I have all 4. I prefer them to any of the other stitch dictionaries I’ve seen (which, admittedly, is probably a limited fraction of those available!). And I’ve recently gotten both Custom Knits by Wendy Bernard and Knitwear Design Workshop by Shirley Paden, which I think will be invaluable to me.

Leave a Reply

