Skip to content

Time to Knit

July 25, 2010
tags:
by

When do I make time to knit?

I make time for knitting whenever I can. Although I often just knit in my living room while watching television with my husband, I have been known to take my knitting on the road. The farthest I ever drove to knit was my recent trips to northern Alberta, Canada. I told my friends and family that I was going to drive 824 miles (1,326 km for my Canadian friends) for a vacation.

“Wow, what are you going to do in northern Alberta?” they asked.
“Knit!”
“Oh. Is it some sort of convention?”
“Nope, just knitting in my friend’s living room.”
“Hmm.” (Non-knitters just don’t get it. Neither do customs agents at the US/Canada border.)

And it was worth every mile of the drive, both times, at a cumulative 3,296 miles.

I have been known to knit at sporting events, and even at a Pearl Jam concert, although this was mainly done to make my sister roll her eyes rather than because I was on some sort of project deadline.

One of the highlights of my week is when I am able to meet with my local knitting group. Great friends, yummy food (Panera!), lots of knitting time, and fiber everywhere!

Regardless of where I knit, how far away from home I am, or who I am with, the one thing I can always count on is for knitting to calm me down. It allows me to focus my nervous energy (of which I have an abundance) on something productive. The repetition is soothing. It’s something that I look forward to, a treat at the end of every day.

!!!!!!..

(Tesia does not know how to use a fancy high-tech signature file, so she will be signing as !!!!!!.. to indicate that she ran 6.2 miles (10 km) today!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

