Skip to content

Knitting Withdrawal

July 19, 2010
tags:
by

This past Saturday, I went for a bike ride with my husband. It was my first time riding with clipless pedals (I don’t know why they are called that, because you actually clip your shoes into the pedals… but there you have it) and my first long bike ride of this summer.  It sounds funny to say that, because it’s the middle of July, but we’ve had a really bizarre summer out here in the Pacific Northwest and it’s really only been nice for a couple of weeks. Between family visits and plans with friends, this weekend was our first chance to get out there and enjoy the trails.

I was really pleased to ride for nearly 15 miles without incident – and enjoying myself the whole way – when it finally happened. I couldn’t clip out of my right pedal in time, and down I fell, banging up my knee and of course, my wrist. It didn’t seem so bad at the time and I managed to make it a further 9 miles home (only falling once more, this time because I, ahem, forgot to unclip my foot before trying to put it down – this time I banged up my left knee!).

Anyway, I made it home, and felt surprisingly good for having ridden 24 miles in just a few hours – but despite a strong desire to knit, I was tired. I’d been up late, restless, the night before, and by the time we had dinner and tidied the house a bit, it was definitely time for bed.  My project, my ideas would have to wait another day. I hadn’t worked on it since Wednesday, one more day wouldn’t hurt.

Sunday was another busy day – I spent the morning doing chores around the house before heading out to take part in the Take Steps walk for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation with Tesia, which took up the rest of my afternoon and evening. I really enjoyed the chance to spend time with a group of wonderful friends and walk for a great cause, but again, there was no time for knitting. By now, my fingers were itching to cast on to test out some things I want to try in my latest design, but I knew I had to get some homework done and head to bed.  As I was reading, however, I twisted my wrist to hold the book upright and noticed a twinge. I hoped it was a passing thing that would be gone by morning…

Today I woke up with high hopes! Today would be the day that I could finally rescue my yarn and needles from the project bag I stuffed them in at Knit Night last Wednesday and cast on.  But of course, it wasn’t to be.  I spent the morning finishing up homework before heading to school early to help some classmates with a math assignment.  My wrist was a bit painful as I rode my bike but again, I brushed it off. I can’t have done anything too terrible to it, after all.

Class this afternoon was a whirlwind of activity, without a spare minute to think about knitting, and I came straight home afterward.  A good friend is visiting tonight, so the house needed tidying before he arrived. We went out for a lovely dinner and came home…. but still no time to knit.  While my husband and friend have been playing with our friend’s new gadgets (an iPad and iPhone 4), I’ve been doing homework for the last couple of hours, the kind of homework that requires full attention and use of my hands – reading a dense textbook regarding diversity in schools and having to take a copious amount of notes!  Even this slow and thoughtful typing is starting to fatigue my wrist. I must have landed on it a bit funnier than I thought on Saturday.

So, here I sit, frustrated by the lack of time I have to knit, knowing that it’s probably for the best, as the pain in my wrist actually seems to be increasing the more I use it.  I can’t help but think back to all of the times that I’ve had nothing to do and yet haven’t felt like picking up the needles.  Wouldn’t it be nice if I could just shift time around to suit my needs?

Since I can’t knit, I thought instead I would pose this question to you: how do you carve time for knitting out of your busy schedules? What’s a knitter to do when knitting just isn’t going to happen?

Abigail

One Comment leave one →
  1. autumnbriars permalink
    July 20, 2010 4:11 pm

    I can nearly always find time for just a little knitting. I keep a sock in my bag at all times–it keeps me sane when I have to wait in line, or between clients, or when traffic is bad and I’m spending too much time at stoplights. Some days, I don’t knit more than a few stitches, but I’m often surprised by the amount of progress I can make knitting just in stolen moments.

Leave a Reply

