Skip to content

A guest post, by Rhiannon

July 19, 2010

Sometimes, on the blog, we will be having guest posts. We have a lot of creative and well written friends, so occasionally, we will be featuring some of their wisdom here.

The first of such posts is by our good friend Rhiannon. She is a Canadian knitter and designer in her spare time, and a university prof and fiancee the rest of the time. Her design page on Ravelry can be found here, and her blog is here: http://academianuts.blogspot.com/  Enjoy!

A few weeks about, my friend Jen wrote a blogpost about a phenomena occuring on the Three Irish Girls boards: several of the groups’ members were pregnant. Someone (ok, it was Allison) coined the phrase “Infallible Baby Dust” to refer to the magic potion that our favourite yarnista must be putting into our yarn.  After all, what else could be causing this sudden outbreak of babies? I think there’s something more than that going on, though–I think we might also be dealing with a second magic potion, which I would like to call “Endless Creativity Dust.” I am continually amazed by the creativity that I see in the 3IG groups on Ravelry, and the number of designers we count amongst our ranks grows every day.
 
I am a relatively new designer; most of the things I design come from the initial thought of, “Hey! I wonder if there’s a….” and then some contemplation of how I might get there if there isn’t. For example, I was minding my own business the other day, knitting along on the eternal kilthose I am making my fiance for our wedding, when suddenly, inspiration struck me. I threw aside my sock (translation: replaced it gently in its project bag), grabbed a leftover ball of Wexford Merino Silk and some non-toothpick sized needes, and proceeded to work up a swatch. 

 I’m a member of Stash Menagerie, which is the non-sock weight yarn club run by Three Irish Girls.  One of the things that I like best about Sharon’s clubs is that you can order as much as you’d like to, so if you see a colourway and decide that you need a sweater quantity, you can have it.  Unfortunately, I’ve never had the chance to do that–I got engaged shortly before I joined SM, and all of my extra cash has been funneled towards the wedding.  This means that I have a lot of single skeins of really beautiful and unique yarns.  It can be a challenge to find patterns to suit these yarns, so for me, designing is partially a response to a growing sense of “wow, I have a LOT of single skeins.” The August yarn for SM is a gorgeous purple on Wexford, and I wanted to find a cute little shrug pattern for one skein that would highlight the richness and depth of the colour. Ravelry came up with nothing, so I’m taking matters into my own hands.  I blame the yarn fully and completely for this, and it hasn’t even been dyed yet.
 
It’s important to note that designing isn’t the only kind of creativity enhanced by the Endless Creativity Dust.  Any time a knitter looks at a pattern and makes it her/his own is a creative act, whether it’s a change in the yarn, the colour, the gauge, the cast on, or the sleeve style.  A pattern is a possibility: What you do with it is up to you, and there’s nothing better than making something that you love even more than you thought you would.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 6:25 pm

    Hey! That’s me! :-) I like the “Endless Creativity Dust” too–I think it explains a lot. But I think there are 2 essential parts that must be mixed to create the dust. The first part is the yarn. And the second part is all y’all. I know I get inspiration from the group, just like I do from the yarn!

  2. lallison79 permalink*
    July 20, 2010 8:39 am

    Actually, Arlin coined the term “Infallible Baby Dust”…I just noticed that 3IG yarn causes pregnancy!

  3. Tesia permalink*
    July 20, 2010 8:50 am

    Rhiannon,

    Your swatch is beautiful! I can’t wait to see what it becomes.

    xoxo
    Tesia

  4. July 21, 2010 5:14 am

    Thank you, Tesia! I can’t wait to see what it becomes, too. I really, really hope that what I have in my mind will actually play out properly when it arrives.

Leave a Reply

