Skip to content

Rainbows: An Idea

July 16, 2010
by

A few weeks ago, I received a box of beautiful yarn from Three Irish Girls, containing a group order I’d placed for Spring Rainbow skeins.

Box of Rainbow Skeins

My share of this box included miniskein rainbow sets in Kells (superwash sportweight yarn), Roslea (non-superwash worsted weight) and Springvale (superwash worsted weight).  I knew before I had even ordered what the Roslea and Springvale would be – longies and a cardigan, respectively – but I ordered the Kells without any idea of what I would do with it. I just knew I wanted to have the chance to play with the colors and see what happened.

Once the yarn arrived and I had a chance to fondle it, ideas began swirling around in my head.  The first thing I did was swatch (with the Springvale, because I knew I’d knit that straight away) to see how the colors looked as knitted fabric and not just in the skein.

Rainbow Swatch

At this point, my ideas began to coalesce and take form as an actual object. I started to sketch and browse existing patterns to see what is out there and think about what I wanted my item to look like. I do this step by hand, quick sketches with scribbles all over them that are probably meaningless to anyone else – sometimes with color and sometimes just in black and white.

Now that this step is completed, I’m ready to start the fun part – figuring out the math!

I think this is my favorite part…. ;)

Abigail

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 1:56 pm

    Gorgeous. I am really kicking myself for not buying any of the rainbow sets while I had the money.

Leave a Reply

