Skip to content

Yarn, Part II

July 15, 2010
by

Yesterday, a skein of yarn came to me in the mail. This isn’t a rare happening; in fact, it is way too common. I had bought it for two reasons…one, I needed a skein of yarn (not this one) to test knit for a friend and I didn’t want it to get lonely in the mail; two, it was a new base and I wanted to try it out (Codex from The Sanguine Gryphon, in case you are curious).

I didn’t want to knit with it…not now, not yet. I’m in the middle of several other projects…a sweater, a secret, a spinning marathon…I didn’t have time for something new.

But this yarn…it wouldn’t take no for an answer. It kept calling to me. Even when it was hidden behind a pillow, it still called out…”Knit Me! Knit me now!”

Tonight, I gave in. I wound it. Tried to figure out what it should be…what to do with one skein, 240 yards of worsted weight, single ply, BFL/silk blend. I said…anything but a scarf. I hate knitting scarves. I’ll get so bored.

But this skein…it said “I will be a scarf, and I will be beautiful”. And so I thought…cables? lace? texture? What should I do? And I looked through one of my Japanese stitch dictionaries…and no more than ten pages in, the answer appeared. I started knitting…and I was happy. But then the yarn told me…”Almost Allison, but this isn’t quite right.” And so I frogged…but I now know what this yarn wants to be. It wouldn’t be quiet and it wouldn’t wait its turn…but it spoke, loud and clear. And it will be beautiful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deborah Montes permalink
    July 17, 2010 8:00 am

    So now you have me, what is it going to be, you have me in suspense.

Leave a Reply

