Skip to content

When Life, or Knitting, Gets Overwhelming

July 11, 2010

One step at a time. Focus on what you need to do today, not what needs to happen tomorrow.

So when I was in Nepal, I was the slowest one in the whole group.  It was pathetic.  I was struggling during the easy days.  I couldn’t make it up and down easy hills (that were practically paved and had stairs).  Everyone was getting worried that I wouldn’t be able to make it.

After three days, I had a breakthrough.  I realized that I didn’t have to keep up with my collaborators on this trip…they were both experienced hikers/trekkers…and over six feet tall.  I didn’t even have to go fast.  I just had to make sure I reached my destination in the end.  One foot in front of the other, one step at a time.  Om Mani Padme Hum, the Tibetan Buddhist Mantra, provided the perfect cadence for my steps.  Om Mani Padme Hum up the hill.  Om Mani Padme Hum down the mountain.  Keeping my rhythm slow and steady.

And thus I learned to walk.  And I got faster.  And I always reached my destination.  Om Mani Padme Hum.  My mind was calm…and focused on only the next step I had to take.  Not tomorrow, not the next hill, not that big rock, not 2 steps ahead…just the next step. Om Mani Padme Hum.

And I did make it.  There and back again.  And I wasn’t the last to arrive any more.  And, in fact, I was one of the first to finish.  If there had been certificates, I would have gotten “Most Improved”.

Om Mani Padme Hum.  Not one project at a time, not one repeat at a time, not one row at a time.  One stitch at a time.  You’ll get there.  We’ll all get there.  And then we can say “We Did It” – and we will be stronger and better for it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    July 11, 2010 4:49 pm

    A perfect mantra for life. I usually say one step at a time. Now I think I’ll say Om Mani Padme Hum.

  2. Lyn (DownwardDogFbrs) permalink
    July 11, 2010 4:51 pm

    Wow, Allison, what a beautiful post! I love that Mantra, it’s fascinating to me that it can’t really be translated, that it contains so much…

  3. July 11, 2010 8:05 pm

    Thanks for this reminder. I’ve been feeling a bit discouraged about several things lately, because to me I’m not making progress fast enough. I need to remember it’s not just the end result, it’s the journey. :)

    Btw, I am so happy y’all picked WordPress over Blogger. So. Happy. :D

  4. autumnbriars permalink
    July 11, 2010 8:26 pm

    I love this post, and I love that the four of you have a blog together! I can’t wait to see what antics you get up to. =D

  5. Patty (Rugersmom) permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:36 am

    What lovely words; and so true.

Trackbacks

  1. TAAT Designs « The Magpie Knitter
  2. TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

