Skip to content

Camp Loopy 2012 – Yes, Already!

May 11, 2012
tags:
by

I know it seems like the fun of Camp Loopy just finished… but it’s time to start again!  I guess that means the end of the school year is coming up soon. In six weeks or, to be exact, 29 days, due to Memorial Day. Not that I am counting, mind you.

Unlike last summer, I don’t have a zillion things planned (Sock Summit, visit to my parents, 2 weeks in Chile, 1 week in Canada, etc) so I feel fairly comfortable diving right in to the fun that is Camp Loopy. To quickly recap, last year’s required projects were 1) a two-color shawl or scarf; 2) a pair of cabled things (socks, mittens, gloves); and 3) something using 800 yards of yarn.

“Samovar” by Allison Janocha
Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino Fingering in “Through the Looking Glass” and “Strawberry Fields Forever”

“Hollygrove Mittens” by me, inspired by Judy Kaethler
Madeleinetosh Vintage in “Thyme”

“Laar” by Gudrun Johnston, modified by me
The Sanguine Gryphon Mithril in “Big Bad Wolf”

I really enjoyed participating in Camp Loopy last year.  It was great to choose projects I might not otherwise knit, fun to try new yarns and nice to have a FUN deadline as opposed to a DESIGN deadline. Although I received my prize skein of Wollmeise and promptly gave it away (it wasn’t my preferred weight, color or ply/twist), I appreciated the 20% camp discount and the extra FSB credits.

This year’s first challenge is a project using a minimum of 400 yards of yarn from a designer who was born or currently lives in a country other than your own.  A bit tricky to figure out, no? My first thought was Ysolda Teague as I have knitted a few of her patterns before, my next thought was Trisha (although she said she thought that ought to be like cheating for me)  but then I realized that Steven West lives in Amsterdam and I knew exactly what I need to knit for Project One.

But what yarn to use? Well, as luck would have it, The Loopy Ewe has in stock another pair of exclusive Three Irish Girls colorways in Glenhaven Cashmerino Fingering.

So…. Camp Loopy, here I come! Who’s coming with me?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    May 12, 2012 7:00 pm

    yay!!!! I’m with you!!!
    I’m all about Elena Nodel for this challenge :)

    That yarn is gorgeous!! Looking fwd to seeing your shawl!! :)

  2. May 13, 2012 3:08 pm

    Well, you know I’M in, since you’re the one that sucked me in! ;-)

  3. May 15, 2012 5:57 pm

    I bit. I’m in too. My order is in the mail and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

