Skip to content

Camp Loopy, Project Two

August 2, 2011
tags:
by

In all of the excitement of Sock Summit, I haven’t shared anything about my adventures with Camp Loopy Project 2!

Project One (my Alice in Samovarland) was effortless – I saw the challenge, saw the yarn for sale, saw friends knitting Samovars, and a week later, it was done! Project Two didn’t come quite as easily but it wasn’t much more complicated. I had a pair of cabled mittens in mind, and then I let friends from my knitting group choose the yarn.  I knew that I would be away on vacation for half of the challenge time frame so the mittens would be more manageable on a shorter time frame.

My yarn requests were: worsted weight, light in color and plied. I ended up with Madeleinetosh Vintage in Thyme, which perfectly fits all of the criteria and is wonderfully soft.  There was a minor panic when I finished going through our held mail after vacation and my package wasn’t there (despite having been marked as delivered two weeks earlier), but a quick trip to the post office resolved that and all was well.

As for the pattern, I decided to make mittens that coordinate with the Hollygrove Hat and Scarf patterns. I love the cables on the hat and scarf and have plans to make the entire set for a member of my family one of these days, so I thought it would be fun to work out a set of mittens to go with.

I knit most of the first mitten in the car on the way to Sock Summit, finished the top of it while knitting with amazing friends one evening, and knit most of the second in my fantastic Knit Happy: The Psychology of Color in Knitting class. I just now finished up the top of the second mitten – tomorrow I will add the thumbs and then they will be finished.

What are you working on for Camp Loopy, Project Two?

 

(yes, I have already chosen my Project Three pattern and ordered yarn – and it already shipped – but I will wait to share more details about that until I’ve finished Project Two.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 10:51 am

    I am finishing up my pair of winding path socks in Gwendolyn on Adorn. They are taking me FOREVER . . .not because the pattern is hard or because I don’t like them. . . but because summer has caused not as much knitting time and with Sock Summit, too few moments to sit and knit without distractions :) Plus, they are socks. Who am I kidding. . .? I think that instead of Second Sock Syndrome, I have half of two-at-a-time sock syndrome.

    • August 4, 2011 2:05 pm

      I definitely have sock syndrome… ah well. The Winding Path socks are so much fun! I can’t wait to see yours :)

Trackbacks

  1. Camp Loopy Project Two « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

